South Natick, MA. The Site Plan of this historic New England colonial
farmhouse shows it set on 4 acres amid rolling fields, trails, fields,
fruit trees and stone walls. Between Elmbank and Broadmoor, the house
is 2 miles from Wellesley College near Memorial School. Natick
Community Organic Farm preserves the original 1815 barn and three-acre
field adjoining. Jeremiah Bacon built the house on a knoll opposite the
Charles River in the mid 18th century. Brother Oliver rebuilt
the old saltbox in 1770, and in 1791 added the second floor rear. The
place was expanded ca.1900 as Carver Hill Farm. Foundations of old cow
barns and a windmill have been turned into picturesque ruin gardens.
Restored by the Greggs in 1934, house has six fireplaces, five bedrooms
and a fieldstone three-car garage. The present sunroom entry, kitchen
and living room wings were added by the Taylor Family in the 1950s.